Did You Never Ever Wear Your Medals?

Wharfmaster

My Father served in the Navy and Reserve for over 20 years. He was commissioned in 1943 and retired about 1965.

During his career, he never once wore his full size or mini medals. He had to attend a number of "events" in his dress blues & whites and still wore ribbons only. I helped him request his medals long after he retired.

During your service career, did you not ever have to wear your medals?

Thanks and best regards,

The Wharfmaster

I wore my full size medals for my retirement photo, and some military funerals. I wear my mini medals for Memorial Day and Veterans Day Ceremonies

Leigh

I am retired USN and the only time I wore medals was at every Change of Command ceremony.

Chris

Always at the change of command ceremonies.

Well i was only in the Army(canadian) for a very short time so I never wore them then (heck they weren't issued until after i got out) . Now as a firefighter i wear them at least once year for special events but I prefer to wear ribbons if i can

David

In almost 30 years I've only worn mine a few times. In the Navy, full sized medals can technically be prescribed for many different command events. However, any decent CO will refrain from doing that because of the expense involved in putting a set together. An E4 w/ a wife and two kids certainly has better things to spend his or her money on. Ribbons are just fine for most things. Voluntary events, such as a Navy Ball, are different..

Well i was only in the Army(canadian) for a very short time so I never wore them then (heck they weren't issued until after i got out) . Now as a firefighter i wear them at least once year for special events but I prefer to wear ribbons if i can

David

Never wore my medals while in the service.But I do wear my ribbons on my f.d. class-A's.