Question on bdu

Stout

Hello friends,

I think that the woodland BDU was officially adopted for the army in October 1981. A friend from another forum, also ex us soldier, told me that he received his first bdu in the summer of 1982 and that most soldiers received the bdu in between 9 and 12 months, i.e. until September/October 1982 at the latest. Nevertheless, I wonder when the coexistence of green uniforms and bdu was finally prohibited. Does anyone know the army regulations?

kind regards

easterneagle87

I'm not sure. I was a Freshman ROTC cadet in the fall of '83 and they made us wear those stupid OG-105's with the ridiculous baseball cap through that 83-84 school year. I joined the Ranger Challenge Club and bought myself my own set of camo BDU's in the Spring of '84.   

I wore both OG fatigues and BDUs in Korea in 1983-1984. I think by the end of 1984, it was all woodland BDUs. Maybe Google "wear out date for olive green fatigues?"

I have several editions of AR 670-1 in my collection. The 1 Nov 1981 version has no mention of the BDU uniform. The next version I have is dated 1987.  Paragraph 31-1 of that version states:

"The utility (OG-107) and durable press utility (OG-507) uniforms are authorized for year-round on-duty wear by all personnel as long as the uniforms remain serviceable or until 30 September 1987, at which time these uniforms are no longer authorized for wear."

I served from July 1973 to Aug 1999 and was able to purchase the new BDU at Fort Riley Kansas in 1981. I think by the end of 1982 no one at Fort Riley was wearing the old Fatigue uniform.

Thank you guys for the great input ! 

So 30 September 1987 is the date 👍

Out of your posts I read, that changing from green to bdu was completed in the stateside units until around end 1982 (except training or schools) and in the foreign stationed units until around end 1984, right?

best regards 

1 hour ago, Stout said:

Thank you guys for the great input ! 

So 30 September 1987 is the date 👍