My first bayonet! Now . . . what is it? :)

stratasfan

Here it is. Got this with my USN knife, so these are my first military blades! This one I know is . . . a bayonet! Other than that . . . would love to be enlightened. Era, make, who was issued it, what was it used for, etc.

What is the sheath made of? Under the paint loss, it looks like wood. But, then, I had no idea that the USN sheath was plastic. so, hoping some blade experts can help me out! Any thoughts at all are welcome! Also, if I need to take any other pics, just tell me, as I didn't know what to show exactly.

This thing has a cool little button that keep the blade in the sheath. Also, is that wire to hook to a special belt?

post-151812-0-00992200-1518792133_thumb.jpg

post-151812-0-94732100-1518792137.jpg

post-151812-0-64205400-1518792142.jpg

post-151812-0-68058400-1518792146.jpg

It is an M1 Garand bayonet. The scabbard is Danish but it looks like the bayonet itself is US made WWII. I am not a pro on these whatsoever, so I am sure there are others that can tell you more about it.

-Ski

As above....it's a WW2 US manufactured (Union Fork& Hoe) M1 rifle bayonet in a post war Danish scabbard. These were imported probably 20 years ago. If you want a correct 10" WW2 GI scabbard, they're available. Probably $40-$60 depending on condition.

U.F.H = Union Fork & Hoe (Manufacturer)

Oh, that's cool! I think that company was in Columbus!

As above....it's a WW2 US manufactured (Union Fork& Hoe) M1 rifle bayonet in a post war Danish scabbard. These were imported probably 20 years ago. If you want a correct 10" WW2 GI scabbard, they're available. Probably $40-$60 depending on condition.

Do US scabbards look similar? This one looks like it is wood under the paint.

What would you say the value is for this bayonet with the Danish scabbard? And what do you think would be the value of this bayonet with a US scabbard? Just wondering!