Looking to purchase this, opinions?

alktrio06

TheGrayGhost

I'm no expert either, but this gun looks really rough. I'm not sure on the price, I'd wait an see if anyone bids on it, Gunbroker has the 15 minute rule so it can't be sniped. If no one bids, the seller may relist at a lower price or you can negotiate with him directly.

Sgt Saunders

Save your money for something better.

I agree, pass. Maybe for another $500.00 you could find a nicer one.

I think I will do that. If I'm going to shell out that kind of money, a little more for one in better condition would be worth it.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2

I would pass on it as well. It's been refinished before at the minimum so all the collector value is gone. I'm not positive it is real either. I would want to see more pics.

Now to be honest though, a really nice 1897 will run you over 4k pretty easy. I've seen some nice one's sell in the 5k range and a couple even more than that. Most of the ones in the 3k range and below are put-togethers.

I'm pretty good with the model 12 Trenchs as that is the one I have always collected. But the 1897's are a whole different breed because they are very, very easy to fake.

There is a guy over on the jouster forum that is an absolute expert on them. I would never buy one without sending him pics of it first.

I would pass on it as well. It's been refinished before at the minimum so all the collector value is gone. I'm not positive it is real either. I would want to see more pics.

Now to be honest though, a really nice 1897 will run you over 4k pretty easy. I've seen some nice one's sell in the 5k range and a couple even more than that. Most of the ones in the 3k range and below are put-togethers.

I'm pretty good with the model 12 Trenchs as that is the one I have always collected. But the 1897's are a whole different breed because they are very, very easy to fake.