ACH MICH USMC

remy101

Hello

Here is my last comeback, this helmet ACH MICH, used by Marines.

He would come back from the Afghan théatre.

All the comments will be welcome

Good day

dscn3547.jpg

dscn3548.jpg

dscn3549.jpg

dscn3549.jpg

dscn3551.jpg

This is used by Recon guys. Typical USMC grunts don't use ACH/MICH.

vette, velcro on helmets can be used for anything like strobe light, flag patch, IR reflective, NVG battery, etc...

Hello

Here is my last comeback, this helmet ACH MICH, used by Marines.

He would come back from the Afghan théatre.

All the comments will be welcome

Good day

Just curious: is this an original helmet used by a Marine and returned from Afghanistan? I'm no expert on Marine Recon, that's for sure, but it would seem to defeat the purpose of painting the helmet in light color camo by sticking big rectangles of black velcro all over it.

Being one that works with velcro a lot in a dirty environment, I would bet that the velcro was added after it left the desert. The textured paint on these helmets does not allow for good velcro adhesion without the right velcro. Standard every day velcro will begin buckling and then when dust gets under those heaves and sticks to the glue, it will eventually work the velcro loose and it will simply pull off. We deal with this all the time on our flight helmets and we have to use a specific, expensive velcro that will stick to CARC and also lay down right. To make velcro work on a curve like that, relief cuts have to be made and smoothed out. The reason for velcro on the side is to put IR flags, not cloth ones. Not dinging the helmet, just the velcro.

The velcro it awfully clean...and so is the inside of the helmet. I dont see an scratches either.

Good point. At my first glimpse, I didn't notice how "new" it looks. I took a look at my Ranger painted ACH, it has normal wears and scratches around the edges.