Force Recon uniform for bid on eBay

Tonomachi

I saw this on eBay (220505312731) and was wondering what members on the forum thought about this uniform. I'm no expert on uniforms but I've been collecting these types of paratrooper wings for a number of years and have not come across this particular style of embroidery.

post-1389-1257610242.jpg

post-1389-1257610256.jpg

post-1389-1257610283.jpg

post-1389-1257610295.jpg

post-1389-1257610309.jpg

This seller has just a little too much "interesting" looking VN stuff listed. And, he appears to know his stuff, but does not use the word "original" in any of his listings. If I had a rare jacket I knew to be original, I would definitely state that in my sales ad. Big red flags for me. I wouldn't touch this one.

Kurt

I not to crazy about the wings or the name tapes.Maybe Bill will jump in and give us his opinion.Looking forward to Gills input too.

RD

Corpsmancollector

I wouldn't be able to hazard a guess, I'm still a newbie to Vietnam but very interested in marine recon. I look forward to other members input.

Will

http://www.usmilitariaforum.com/forums/ind...p;hl=castle+584

There was a discussion about another uniform this seller had a while ago. It seems some of the uniforms he has had were real but a whole lot are not. From what Ive seen of his items, I wouldnt trust any of his stuff unless there was documentation or something to go with it. Too many of his things that Ive seen are very questionable. A lot of the patches seem to of been sewn on with very similar threads, especially the white, and some uniforms are obviously put-togethers. I dont get a good feeling about any of his stuff, even the somewhat simple uniforms.

As for the shirt this thread is about, the patches look like pretty bad fakes to me.

My first question is has anyone ever seen a Force Recon jungle fatigue shirt with a shoulder patch on it?