Assistance Locating Stolen Items Belonging to Commander Steve Kona

mjone062

Hello.  I work in the museum field as a historian and educator but I am not a collector myself.   I am attempting to assist a friend in locating stolen items from his father's (Commander Steve Kona) service as a naval aviator.  Quick story and summary of the fuzzy facts I think I know...

Prior to his passing in the early 2000s, items relating to Commander Kona's service were retained within the family by one of his sons, himself a naval officer.  During a military move from Charleston SC to Williamsburg VA (around 1990) all items relating to Commander Kona's service were boxed up separately from other household goods and stolen.  I do not know at what point the son realized that his father's items were stolen but I am under the impression that he chalked it up to an embarrassing loss and did not pursue it or tell any of the family.  Fast forward to the mid 2000s...  another one of Commander Kona's sons, my friend (himself a retired sailor), receives a call from an unknown Washington DC number.   Turns out it is a collector at show (not sure if it was a memorabilia or gun show) inquiring about the provenance of a samurai sword from the postwar occupation of Japan linked to Commander Kona.  Needless to say, my friend was shocked.  A quick call to his brother disclosed the whole sad story.  Luckily my friend was able to purchase the sword from the collector.  Anyways... all this recently came up in a conversation and I said I would try to see what else of his father's service items might be recovered.  We are not even sure what all of the items taken were (outside of his father's fight jackets) but Commander Kona's career makes it seem that his service items may be of a highly collectable nature (see information on service below).