Searching for information on my uncle

Bearon

I joined the forums because I found a picture that looked like my Uncle who died durning the Battle of Brest on the Corzon Paninsula on 18 Sept 1944 and wanted to find out if the poster had a better resolution picture, the link of the post is http://www.usmilitariaforum.com/forums/index.php?/topic/25259-brest-naval-submarine-pens-sept-18th-1944/page-2

I have been researching the time Uncle Edwin was in the Army for the past 2 years. He was part of the 28th Infantry Regiment, 8th Infantry Division and landed on Ohmah beach on 4 July 1944.

If anyone has any information on this picture or can help in my research it would be greatly appreciated. I am trying to get more detailed information below the Regiment level. Looking for daily reports and anything that will help fill in the blanks. I do not know what Battalion, Company, or Platoon he served in and have determined that the 28th was in the mist of clearing the last of the fortified areas of Eastern Corzon the day he died. Would like to find an approximate time and location of his death. He is buried at Plot G Row 2 Grave 14 Brittany American Cemetery St. James, France.

About me:

I joined the US Navy on Sept 8th 1978 wanting to become an Illustrator Draftsman (DM) and was honorably discharged Apr 30 of 1992 as a DM2 (E5).

Stationed at Great Lakes for Boot camp and BEE C school, US Naval Station Annapolis/Naval Academy and the Pentagon.

Served aboard the USS Coral Sea (CV-43) making 2 West Pacs, a Pineapple Cruise and was in the Indian Ocean during the Iranian Hostage rescue attempt and the USS Iwo Jima (LPH-2), making 2 Med cruises and 2 Caribbean Cruises (ie RefTra).

And yes it was most certainly an "Adventure" :unsure: and I will be more than happy to help anyone who would like to know about the US Navy while I was in.