[Tutorial] Removing non original paint from M-1 helmets

Peace

Hi all,

I decided to write an article dedicated to removal of paint on M-1 helmets. Over the years, I've seen a lot of helmets mistreated in an attempt to restore them, and I think that the method I use could do some good in this matter. I am not saying my method is the definitive answer, but my experience with this method is quite good.

First of all; this method is for US helmets, not for German or other type helmets from other countries. The method might work, but I have no experience or knowledge on other then US helmets, specifially on the original paint characteristics.

As we all know; US helmets have a texture, a cork texture. This cork texture is of course original to the helmet, so if a helmet is overpainted, and we want to remove the non originally applied paint, we would want to preserve this texture. This is where some of the restorations go wrong for people, because they use a much to agressive way of paint removal.

The cork on US helmets is embedded in the original paint, so if cork is removed, we remove original paint. We don't want that. I'll get back to this later in the article.

Assesment of the situation: When deciding on wether or not the helmet has been non originally overpainted, make sure you now what you are dealing with.

What type of paint was used for repainting? spraycan, housepaint, 2pac paint, etc... Some types are harder to remove then others.