Navy Ribbons Vs. Army

pattyd82ab

Can anyone tell me with certainty if Navy all navy ribbons are wider than army ribbons? I found a Navy Presidential unit ribbon in my collection that is about a half inch wide. Are all navy ribbons like that, or are only unit ribbons wider, or do I have something odd ball?

Thanks

I don't know if this helps, but for my grandfathers european campaign ribbon bars, he had 3 of them! One was longer and not as tall and looks like thick threads. One is shorter and taller and stiching looks fine, and the other is pretty long and more rectangle shaped than the other. They are all original also. One is with his medal, one was on uniform and the other was on a metal long pin rack with a few others. I haven't seen one like the first one I talked about. I just think a few different styles were made at different times and maybe by different suppliers. Im not an expert tho, just adding my $0.02

Yes, WWII Navy and Marine ribbons are wider not sure when it started but the practice seemed to end during or right before the Korean War, never been able to get the exact date.

Navy/Marine ribbons measure 1/2 inch, the Army ribbons measure 3/8 wide. Around the Korean War era allthe branches standardized for 3/8.

Btw a 1/2 PUC ribbon is quite a difficult ribbon to find in 1/2, very nice!

Leonardo

The standardisation of the size of ribbons among all services to the current size seems to have been done immediately post Korean War, though I have no reference available to cite. Doc

do you know how a ribbon rack from split service would look? For example. My great unlce served in wwii as an MoM3. He was discharged, but later re enlisted and went to OTS. His re enlistment and eventuall commission happened during Korea. Would he just have worn all 3/8? there's no known picture of him close enough to see his ribbon rack clearly.