Marine Raider patches

JGC

I was hoping some of the patch collectors might post some examples of marine raider patches, especially the theater made and undersized variations. Or possibly direct me to a web site that might cover this topic. Thanks Jon

This is what I have in my collection. The lower left patch I believe might be a reproduction. The lower right is probably a factory reject error patch. You probably won't believe this but I purchased the upper left Australian made patch at a flea market for $12.00.

Dennis

post-1389-1189306283.jpg

post-1389-1189306306.jpg

I'm not an expert in this area but it is my understanding that the smaller patch was supposed to have been worn on the tan shirts while the more common larger patch on the dress coat. This small patch is US made on twill. There is a rarer one that is fully emroidered which I've only come across once and it was way to expensive for me.

Dennis

post-1389-1189317088.jpg

post-1389-1189317111.jpg

I've attached photos of the fully emroidered small patch that I kept as reference off of one that was for sale on eBay.

Dennis

post-1389-1189319448.jpg

post-1389-1189319472.jpg

Garth Thompson

Dennis,

That one in the lower right corner without the white border on the diamond and only three stars is one I've never seen before. Do you think it was an error patch or made that way by some obscure manufacturer?

Garth

I'm not an expert in this area but it is my understanding that the smaller patch was supposed to have been worn on the tan shirts while the more common larger patch on the dress coat. This small patch is US made on twill. There is a rarer one that is fully emroidered which I've only come across once and it was way to expensive for me.

Dennis

hi dennis

do you have check this patch under blacklight because there are synthetic threads

i have exactly the same here and mine is good copy!

jürgen

Dennis,