lead "soldiers" - Marines in dress blues, white helmet

Bob Hudson

Those are some fine models. Are they marked underneath? I am a lead soldier collector--it was through this hobby that I took the leap into militaria. Thank you for sharing!

-Johannes

Those are some fine models. Are they marked underneath? I am a lead soldier collector--it was through this hobby that I took the leap into militaria. Thank you for sharing!

-Johannes

I can see what looks like a large "M" on the bottom of one.

Any thoughts on the vintage of these? I assumed these were something people bought and painted themselves...?

Are these hollow or solid-cast? I cannot find these in my books as yet, but they resemble early (c.1900-1930) US-made lead soldiers. I have seen some solid cast German figures of the same era that resemble this sculpting too. Can you post a picture of the bottoms of the bases?

While some companies sold these unpainted or mold kits for someone to cast their own, my money would be on these being factory-produced as toys of the early 20th century. These might be US Marines or could represent the British Royal Marines.

Sorry I can't be more helpful at this time!

-Johannes

Reason for edit: typo :D

These look like Royal Marines. I dabled in toy soldiers once-upon-a-time. They look very much like a Royal Marine band set I have that are modern day Britians.

These look like Royal Marines. I dabled in toy soldiers once-upon-a-time. They look very much like a Royal Marine band set I have that are modern day Britians.

I hadn't even thought of Royal Marines - in fact I didn't even know their uniforms were so similar to US Marines and I was trying to figure out when the US Marines might have worn something like this with the white helmet. But it does seem to be the Brits.

nevermind.jpg