Ballistics Experts help please..Found in Normandy

Hi all. I returned this weekend from a 5 day excursion to normandy. Being camped at the far end of omaha beach (about 5 mins walk from the bluffs) I had a lot of chances to explore and hopefully find something, with difficulty of not having a metal detector. One of the items i found was this lead object pictured below.

I am by no means an expert, but it looks like roughly the same size as a .45 or 9mm round and is quite distorted as i would presume a bullet hitting a stationary object would be.

Anyway, i'm probably just overly hopefull, but i thought i would put it to you guys out there who have far more experience than i do with firearms and projectiles.

Thanks a bunch!

Si

IMG_1237.jpg

IMG_1236.jpg

IMG_1235.jpg

IMG_1234.jpg

IMG_1233.jpg

IMG_1232.jpg

IMG_1231.jpg

IMG_1230.jpg

I have no clue, i mean it looks like a bullet to me, but then again thats just me.

Hope it is cause that would be cool,

Haydn

Actively collecting 7th Armored Division items, groupings, etc. especially anything dealing with CO B, 23rd AIB

"Casualties many; Percentage of dead not known; Combat efficiency; we are winning." - Colonel David M. Shoup

donation2011.gif

Like M1AShooter says, it looks like a Wadcutter if it was a bullet, however, Wadcutters are used for target practice shooting and rarely for a defensive round. If it is a wadcutter, it came from a revolver and not an automatic. As said by someone else, ball rounds are the standard, so if it is a bullet fired during the war, it was most likely not a issued round. Also, one last thing. Bullets normally retain their base shape, this one is distorted on both ends, so it looks more like a plug that has been cut. Sorry, can't help more than that.

Visit my eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/crustyw4scorner/

35lyhcy.gif2d29461.gifixd2rm.gif

Looks like it could be a projectile from a earlier musket. :think: