Pete-o MSU's finds

Pete-o MSU

Ok i found these in local antique stores today, for the grand sum of 100 dollars I was happy :D . The uniform was found last week at a garage sale and the owner gave me the address to where the uniform was purchased so I can get the name of the individual.

The silver star is a slot brooch, and numbered 67814. I am not a medal expert but is this traceble? Can some one please help me with this, I would appreciate it, THANKS!

I am not a knife expert either but it is engraved U.S. M4 Camillus I paid 40 Dollars for it.

How did I do?

Thanks

Pete-o

post-236-1185483523.jpg

That particular Silver Star will not be traceable. Did it come with the Ike? I can see the Ike doesnt have a SS ribbon, but that does not always mean anything,

Kurt

No it did not come with the ike, dang. It was only 30 bucks so i figured i should buy in case it was. How can you tell what numbers are traceable, and what era they came from?

No it did not come with the ike, dang. How can you tell what numbers are traceable, and what era they came from?

It is hit or miss on WWII SS's . There is no " published list" of traceable SS's but some folks have copies of GO's that list some of them. SS's numbered below @ 11,000 are generally all named and are mostly WWI awards issued between 1932-1941 . Silver Stars numbered after @ 11,000 were awarded during WWII or Later . The first run of SS's was the BB&B contract and they run up to @ 50,000 . All of the numbered SS's not made by BB&B were manufactured during WWII. Many of them were not issued until later though. Many were sold as surplus including medals in the same number range you have. I saw a box of 100 one time numbered in the 6X, XXX number range at a show once.

Kurt

CNY Militaria

For $30, you still did extremely well. That is a sweet jacket as well...ther collar discs are reversed however.