Amcraft Snowflake Backed Wing

Wingcommander

Wingcommander

Hello Collectors! I have been a member of this site for a while now, but this is the first time I've ever posted! I'm a veteran of a few other forums....wonder if anyone will be able to guess who I am.....lol. I have a question concerning a Pilot's Wing. I don't have photos of it quite yet, but I have seen it in person before, and I will post them here for opinions before I purchase it, but I would like to ask one question in advance. It's an Amcraft Marked Pilot, non sterling. When holding it in hand it looked correct, but it has quite a few spots where it looks "brassy" as if the finish has been polished off.....Can this be so? Would early plated examples have brass showing through from wear? I will post photos as soon as I get them.

Cheers!

Mike

Hello Collectors! I have been a member of this site for a while now, but this is the first time I've ever posted! I'm a veteran of a few other forums....wonder if anyone will be able to guess who I am.....lol. I have a question concerning a Pilot's Wing. I don't have photos of it quite yet, but I have seen it in person before, and I will post them here for opinions before I purchase it, but I would like to ask one question in advance. It's an Amcraft Marked Pilot, non sterling. When holding it in hand it looked correct, but it has quite a few spots where it looks "brassy" as if the finish has been polished off.....Can this be so? Would early plated examples have brass showing through from wear? I will post photos as soon as I get them.

Cheers!

Mike

Welcome Mike,

Yes, you can expect that some of the silver plating would wear off and you would get the underlying brass to show through. Here is a well worn senior pilot wing where you can see that the silver plate has come off in a number of places.