Reed

Hi

I bought this "beanie", but I believe that she it's not original. :unsure:

Original or not original?

Thanks

20rjki1.jpgdxfllc.jpg

2gvihbs.jpg

1zvpy55.jpgajt3wn.jpg

I took some pictures of my original cap, the brim is contructed different. I think you may have an older repo juding by the worn tag on yours.

The brim seems quite large, can you look through the fabric and tell if its made of leather or plastic?

Cardboard

Reed this maybe a differnet manufactor then, unless Johan's is also a repo. I would ask him about it, as I am not an expert at all.

ok thanks :thumbsup:

Johan Willaert

As far as I know the example from my collection shown above is original.

I have no reason to doubt the cap and have had it for many years...

General Apathy

post-344-1268433021.jpg

Hi All, I really do hate all this now, is it, isn't it, isn't it, is it, years ago when 99% of stuff was original and only certain individuals were faking things at home in a one off cottage industry size operation, it was all so much easier and much more fun.

Trying to decide what is and what isn't is not easy from photographs provided here on the forum, take the first Beanie which started this topic, as you scroll down the five photo's attached there the color of the item is changing in each photo, the last color looks nothing like the first two, but the last color does look closer to original colors than the first two do. Looking at the first two colors I would say fake, looking at the last two colors I would say original

For me I think it looks pretty good, especially in the last one with the label, that label does appear to resemble the old style coated cotton material used back in the forties. However to what lengths are reproducers going to copy originals, and if they are going to the length of copying the actual label material then I can only believe it is to catch unsuspecting collectors.