WW2 in HD

DaveS44

This was by far the greatest documentary I have ever seen on the subject. It was a 10-hour series narrated by Gary Sinise.

WW2 in HD

All original color footage converted to HD.

-Dave

I have seen bits and pieces of it, and I agree. Well done, and it is good to see the color as well. I have pre-ordered the DVD set as well. Looking forward to being able to watch it all the way through.

Is there a particular part of the series you liked the best? I am very curious. I own Apple TV, and this series can be downloaded/purchased in portions or as an entire package. Is it from the US perspective? (US only footage) ...or captured footage as well? THanks for the post! Dan

• 2 weeks later...

I was pretty amazed about it, too. I watched what I could (I'm a teacher, so I usually have grading to do and whatnot when I get home.) I just recently picked it up on DVD at Walmart for $20.

Just got the set on blue ray, and watched it over the weekend. Very well done, has a few too many shots of dead, rotting, bodies for me. I know war is hell, and ugly, but they show the same death pictures we have all seen in other shows. Other than that it is one of the best. The color is great and the interviews are honest and sometimes moving. Well worth the price.

Steve

Thanks for the recommendation, just ordered it!

Jim

I think you will be pleased with it. I know I was. I do scale models ( 1:6 scale mandollies ), and love the series just for some historical reference, proof, etc.. I love being able to grab screen shots, and so forth.

Not too mention the commentary and interviews from the actual vets.

I read a review from another board complaining that it has some good footage but that its often played repeatedly or entirely out of context.