Need Veteran Research Help!!!

2ndiddogface

Didn't know where else to put this...

Hello, I am a 10th grade history teacher out in Ca. and a WWII historian and enthusiast. One of my students brought in an art project she is working on. I noticed that it had a purple heart painted on it and a screaming eagle. I asked her about it and she said it was a tribute to her great great grandfather who was in the 101st during WWII and dropped on D-day. I was ecstatic! I started telling her about what they went through and that my wife's grandmother was from Bastogne (14 during the Bulge) and she was really getting into it. I told her that I would try to get some solid military info about her great-grandfather.

What I know to be fact: Name: Loral Francis Gillham Born in '21, Died 7/20/99. He's from Allen County Kansas where he is buried. His induction date was 9/1/1942. His serial number was 37221214. I know by this he was drafted and from region 7, Kansas.

Other than this I was told he received 2 purple hearts, a silver star and possibly 2 bronze stars.

What I want to know is; what PIR he served with. That way I can learn more about possibly what he went through.

Thank you, in advance, for any help!

Joe

Didn't know where else to put this...

Hello, I am a 10th grade history teacher out in Ca. and a WWII historian and enthusiast. One of my students brought in an art project she is working on. I noticed that it had a purple heart painted on it and a screaming eagle. I asked her about it and she said it was a tribute to her great great grandfather who was in the 101st during WWII and dropped on D-day. I was ecstatic! I started telling her about what they went through and that my wife's grandmother was from Bastogne (14 during the Bulge) and she was really getting into it. I told her that I would try to get some solid military info about her great-grandfather.