Help needed - Castner's Cutthroats WWII mountain rucksack?

PandoWeasel

PandoWeasel

This is a wire frame 1941 mountain rucksack that was originally purchased as a 10th Mountain Division artifact about 15-20 years ago.

I have recently been going through my old collection and researching pieces. I had made note of the name and serial # on the pack at the time of sale, but before the internet, it was not customary to research serial numbers on items of militaria.

I know that the U.S. issue mountain rucksack was not the standard issue for the Alaska Scouts, but the name and the serial # match that of one Samuel Kakik.

I have had this backpack packed away in a box for at least ten years now, and just Googled the name and number for the first time tonight, and was shocked when I started learning that the rucksack might have belonged to a member of Castner's Cutthroats?????

I am a new member of the forum, and want teveryone to know that I am not selling the backpack, so that nobody thinks I am an internet wacko claiming crazy things.

I would like some input from experienced collectors on this- is this rucksack really a relic from the Alaska Scouts, or did I make a mistake in my research?

I read the book 'Castner's Cutthroats' by Jim Rearden as a kid about 25 times. I had no idea that I might own a rucksack used by one of the scouts.

I wish I could answer questions about where it came from, but at the time it was just another wire frame mountain rucksack on a table, and I do not remember any details about when or where I bought it. Unfortunately that also means I cannot be sure that someone did not fabricate the name and serial number after the war and before I bought it.

I hope not!

Thanks for any input!

post-7450-1249442516.jpg

PandoWeasel

I welcome feedback and ideas, even if people think this item is a fake.

I am more interested in determining if it is authentic or not, and am not sure how to really do so by myself.