MK II Grenade, Early with short spoon.

Alright, ordnance experts, tell me what you know about this grenade. I don't know anything about ordnance, so I can't even guess what time period I am looking at here. Found this in a green metal tin at a local junk shop. It's been deactivated, obviously, and is in nice condition.

post-5108-1248918948.jpg

I'm looking at that website you linked, and I'm wondering how I can tell what type of MKII grenade it is? Aside from color, they all look the same to me. :huh:

I am not a grenade expert, but here goes:

It looks to me like a standard WWII Mk. II grenade. There is probably a big hole in the bottom that is not threaded or anything. This makes it a practice grenade. If the bottom is closed (no hole) it COULD be a live grenade that has had the charge removed, or a practice grenade that has had the hole closed somehow.

The reason I say it is a WWII grenade is because of the fuse assembly. If you look at the "spoon," it comes up the side of the grenade, over the top of the fuze, and then doubles back under the front lip of the fuze. The later fuzes had two little fingers that branched off from the spoon at the top of the fuze and went under two little studs that were part of the fuze. That type of fuze is shown later on the page as a Mk. II practice grenade.

If there are markings on the grenade body or fuze, you should show those as it will help a more knowledgeable collector help positively identify what you have.

If you want to make it look like a live grenade, it should be painted olive green with a yellow stripe around the very top where the fuze screws in.

Do a google search, too. There is lots of info out there on grenades.

Abby,