Zipper Snot

sgtbrown

I recently purchased a nice pair of USN sheepskin flight pants. The zippers seem to all be solid, but they have apparently been un-zipped for a LONG time. A solid coat of green verdigris has covered the brass/bronze teeth. Can anyone suggest a good way to clean the zippers so I can then zip them up and truly see if they are OK?

Thanks,

Tom

craig_pickrall

I'm no expert on this but without advice from others I think I would try the following. Brush the zippers to remove the "green meanies" and then coat the zipper by rubbing parafeen wax on it. That was a common lube for zippers in the "old days". You could also check in a sewing shop to see what they have in the way of modern zipper lube. You need to be careful of lube that will transfer to the sheepskin lining however.

I keep on hand soft bristle brass brushes for this sort of thing, but an old (or new) stiff toothbrush might work just was well. For lube, I put some lubricant on the end of a Q-Tip and brush the zipper with that. It doesn't take much: usually I can just brush it on a couple inches of the zipper and then run the zipper up and down a few times to spread it around.

Good advice guys! I use the wire brush in combination with the paraffine(I use a colorless candle or bees wax)

I would just like to add, that if you use a brush, and its some sort of metal, it might be better to use a brush in the same material as the object needing cleaning. For instance, if you clean metal parts with a copper wire brush, the metal will take on a coppershine. Just for what its worth.

Ive seen very good results with sodacrystal mixed in water. This seems to take off quite a bit of verdegris and ruststains, without harming cloth + it does not eat paint. I do not know the longterm effect of this though. Again, for what its worth

Regards

Stijn

Good advice guys! I use the wire brush in combination with the paraffine(I use a colorless candle or bees wax)