Safe Passage Silk flag

Legion

I have been offered this safe passage flag. Sorry this is the only pic i have. I was just wondering is this WWII vintage and good value to offer? thanks

post-3204-1241062587.jpg

Looks like one from the first Gulf War.Has Kurdish and Turkish as well as Arabic.The Desert Storm ones also have the sewn edge.

RD

That would make sense it threw me off because everything else he has to offer (mainly patches) is WWII vintage and i have little experience in these..thanks for the info

It's a blood chit all right, but i don't believe it to be real. They have been printed on tyvek since the gulf war as the one I carried in Iraq was a gulf war hold over. The numbers in the corner are meant to be cut off and the way the numbers are printed on this one, you would have to cut a part of the flag away.

I believe this one is an after market repro that you can buy off of the net.

For those of you who don't know, the numbers are designed to be used as a "reciept" for assistance. You give a piece of the bloodchit with the number on it to someone who helps you. That person then has proof of assisstance and can claim a reward. Current issue blood chits are therefore tracked by this serial number, and their loss can be a VERY big deal. They are now made with perferated lines that allow the numbers to be easily be torn off.

The way this example is made would make it almost impossible to take off the numbers with out ruining the whole thing.

Vance

Francis Marion

I have been issued these in Afghanistan for the purposes previously stated. It was printed on Tyvek paper with a unique serial number repeated in all four corners. I have seen silk or nylon copies sold by some in country vendors. With Turkish and Kurdish languages on it, I would be pretty certain it was a copy produced for or in Iraq.

316th FS 324th FG