Bring back Samurai Sword from the Philippines

Timberwolf

Just acquired this bring back samurai sword  via the vets family on eBay. TSgt W.O. Liscomb Jr acquired this sword while serving in the 129th IR’s Anti Tank Co. in the Philippines he was engaged in some heavy fighting against Japanese forces, according to the family they were running out of ammo and were forced to use bayonets; he then obtained the sword from a Japanese officer he bayoneted. From I was told he was very hesitant to talk about his time in combat, and only talked about it at the end of his life. The tassel is of a company grade officer, and the blade is still razor sharp. I’m not a sword expert but felt this group was worth keeping together.

Hope you all enjoy!

Ben.

9DBF25E9-EF24-423E-B8DB-5DEDFFC78AE5.jpeg

A6CD297F-A356-4FFC-AAB8-4E0FFFB3A13E.jpeg

B24F9962-7E08-4218-9BD8-474429565416.jpeg

4523871E-34B5-43BF-A861-052EC8A07A02.jpeg

DF338353-8954-4306-A6E1-DC979AAEDD8D.jpeg

C9AD21EB-7C12-4DE7-955C-C44F5B672820.jpeg

B39E8E62-681C-4D74-9191-FB439103EBD9.jpeg

B14C21C8-081D-447F-A041-9F3E4731BAD6.jpeg

284F923E-340A-4EF9-997C-F75A59A521D2.jpeg

Kurt Barickman

It is a real treasure when you can document when and how those swords were acquired in combat. Personally I value those more than than the truly old swords that veterans brought back from surrender piles. Congrats on a very nice PTO Buckeye group.

Kurt

23 minutes ago, Kurt Barickman said:

It is a real treasure when you can document when and how those swords were acquired in combat. Personally I value those more than than the truly old swords that veterans brought back from surrender piles. Congrats on a very nice PTO Buckeye group.

Kurt

Thanks Kurt! I know a story is a story, but it wasn't anything "wild". I can definitely picture some nasty fighting going on at this stage of the war. I'm glad I was able to keep the story alive.

Brian Dentino