PB jump wings with 3 stars.. opinions?

I completely forgot I had these. I got them along with a bunch of old VFW pins years ago. The stars are soldered or welded on, there seems to be some black residue or something on the wings near where the stars are affixed. There is also the remnants of a sterling mark on the reverse.

Airborne isn't really my area so I don't know what to make of them, any opinions would be really appreciated.

PXL_20220805_174133900.jpg.cbd71941ab85df23a8866880255481ff.jpg

PXL_20220805_174155284.jpg.058ee93c483a06c6ed9d9aaaff8f2267.jpg

PXL_20220805_174958268.jpg.0e4b89363b5beb02c54ba7453823189c.jpg

I agree.  Original wings.  

multiple possible combinations, however, the 504 PIR group I have, the trooper had three combat jumps.

USCapturephotos

I'm no expert on paratrooper units, but couldn't they also be from the 509th PIB/PIR. They were credited with at least two jumps in North Africa in 43, one in Italy I believe (at least some members did) and one in the south of France? It could easily be a pair from one of their members. I could be wrong but I also thought it was the 509th who actually started the tradition of adding stars to their jump wings. 

Paul

collectsmedals
13 hours ago, USCapturephotos said:

They were credited with at least two jumps in North Africa in 43, one in Italy I believe (at least some members did) and one in the south of France?

The 509 made three jumps in North Africa; Oran Algeria, Youks-les-Banes, and El Djem (only 32 troopers from headquarters company were on that last one). They also jumped at Avellino, Italy and in Southern France, and made seaborne landings at Ventotene and Anzio. They also participated in the Battle of the Bulge in Belgium.