USAF Parachute

ottodog8

Picked this up at a local antique shop. What do I have? What kind of aircraft was it used in? I have some knowledge of USAF helmets and weapons, but know nothing about these. I just like flight gear from the 50's and 60's

Thanks

Steve

DSC00991.JPG

DSC00992.JPG

DSC00993.JPG

DSC00994.JPG

DSC00995.JPG

DSC00998.JPG

phantomfixer

More in this thread and others 

Look like and I think it is a BA-18 with the desirable blast handle and orange pull handle that would connect to a zero delay lanyard, used in conjunction with  certain ejection seats ...

looks to be mostly complete with the F-1 automatic canopy release(score), the bailout bottle is missing, but easily replaced...

others will know more about the aircraft and handle configuration....

you found a good one

It's a very hard to find USAF BA-series parachute (BA-18 or 21 version, I guess). Missing the the automatic opening cable and its attachment loop coming from the F-1 automatic canopy release box.

Franck

Thanks guys. Many years ago I had an idea of setting up a late 1950s USAF pilot mannequin in an ejection seat. I gathered everything from the boots to P-4b helmet with mask, even a beautiful example of the rare Aircrewman pistol and holster. I picked up a regular backpack chute, mostly because it was inexpensive and I know little about them. 

I abandoned the project because I woke up and realized how much room an ejection seat takes up. I sold the Aircrewman (one of the few pieces I've parted with that I regret), but still have everything else. 

But the idea won't go away. Over the years I've  picked up some later pieces, such as a beautiful HGU-2/P helmet and mask, and a very nice USAF marked Smith & Wesson M15 pistol. Guess I've progressed from the late 50s to the 1960s. When I saw this at the antique shop, I still didn't know what it was, but I knew it was cool. It was reasonably priced, and I couldn't leave it there.