AUTHENTICATE BALLOON WINGS

donaldnol

donaldnol

I have no knowledge of balloon wings but these wings looks a little suspicious what do you think

s-l1600 (41).jpg

s-l1600 (44)3.jpg

s-l1600 (44)2.jpg

s-l1600 (44)4.jpg

s-l1600 (44).jpg

s-l1600 (45).jpg

Everything is wrong with these. I would review the fakes section these are discussed there more than once

donaldnol
2 hours ago, warguy said:

What about them give you concerns?

THE WING IT'S SELF LOOKS WAX CAST AND THE MAKERS NAME LOOKS PROFECTIONALY TOOLED IN

rathbonemuseum.com

As patrick said above these types of fakes especially with the terrible modern “trophy” engraving have been discussed ad nauseum in this wing section. Do not even consider.

donaldnol
1 hour ago, rathbonemuseum.com said:

As patrick said above these types of fakes especially with the terrible modern “trophy” engraving have been discussed ad nauseum in this wing section. Do not even consider.

THANKS i wont consider it, i thought it looked a little suspect.

This is a "pattern" of fakes. Usually a cast or modified wing, with an engraved hallmark, fantasy saying or motto (the cheesy the better), and a date. In case, you know, you didn't figure it all out.  All done with either a nail or dremel bit but someone with no skill what so ever.  Ive seen them in USAAF and USN versions.  Collecting these would be an art form in and of itself.  The old joke applies with these... they are so ugly they hurt my feelings! 

This one has all the bells and whistles except for a date as far as I can see.  Ive been tempted to buy one just for the chuckles associated with them, but then why?

Still, it is amazing the range and volume of these and how often they show up in collections. 

donaldnol
4 minutes ago, Brian Keith said:

I think I see a "1944" date in the balloon.

BKW

yes there is a date and it's still up for grabs no bids yet

On 5/7/2022 at 6:19 PM, donaldnol said:

yes there is a date and it's still up for grabs no bids yet