1961 Imperial MIL-K General Purpose knife

The Rooster

Nice first year Imperial Stainless, any idea what year they stopped stamping the crown above Imperial.

I have seen it on those made to around 1968 but not on the 1974 and after knives. 

"Any idea what year they stopped stamping the crown above Imperial."

I dont know. Im new to these knives.

Funny thing about this one is that other than some old grease, the thing is like brand new.

It hard to get the tools out. Its really tight. Surprised me cause its 60 years old.

On 12/26/2021 at 7:35 AM, The Rooster said:

"Any idea what year they stopped stamping the crown above Imperial."

I dont know. Im new to these knives.

Funny thing about this one is that other than some old grease, the thing is like brand new.

It hard to get the tools out. Its really tight. Surprised me cause its 60 years old.

I don't know about the crown stamp either.  Rooster, the 61 Imperial I have is just like your's, bright and shiny, and a real finger nail breaker.  Someone must of opened up a new old batch just for us.😀

lol. I know what you mean ! I have to muscle out everything and then the awl is last. Its tight !

• 1 month later...
On 12/20/2021 at 7:51 PM, Collector2 said:

Nice first year Imperial Stainless, any idea what year they stopped stamping the crown above Imperial.

I have seen it on those made to around 1968 but not on the 1974 and after knives. 

My 1976 has the crown

20211019_101051.jpg

A couple of Imperial 1974 blades that do not appear to have any sign of the crown on them. both knives look in pretty good nick with untouched blades.

1974b.jpg

Im1974.jpg

After seeing these two photo's I posted earlier in large size on the screen and looking at IMPERIAL, I quickly realized that IMPERIAL is all upper case.

The earlier Imperials above and my 1966 all have capital I only in Imperial.

This probably is the reason that these two and others similar do not have the crown stamped above Imperial.