Denim navy work pants- date?? ID: Civilian Denim

jdb

By the stitching, they look homemade to me.  A lot of crude workmanship.  But I am no expert on these so take what I say with a grain of salt.

Other than being a shade of blue, there is nothing Navy about these. They look like someone made a pair of trousers with modern fabrics, using a Civil War pattern. Honestly, I do the same thing. I live on a working far. And find 19th century clothing much more practical here. So, I use ACW patterns and make my own work clothes. Just like this. 

Not really sure why you would think these were Navy (US Navy?). The crude workmanship, back adjustment belt, suspender buttons, none a feature of USN clothing. 

Likely Amish?

There is a company that sells a version of denim like that dirt cheap - like $20 - $30. I heard they were popular with the Amish. I can't remember the name of the place as it's on an old hard drive but they have a typed inventory sheet with lots of interesting vintage style clothing and accessories. Had a few pics IIRC but no closeups. I found it searching for early denim dungarees with a cinch back. I have seen them go for good money on eBay as early USN dungarees. Many have been scammed by these. Perhaps someone could post a pic of the rare early USN dungarees. My assumption is most were worn out during the depression. There is so little info out there about them that this style has been spread as what they actually were. I'm not yet convinced. Yours do look to be an old pair but I do think that was a common style of work trouser.  The hand-stitched buttonholes and the buttons both tell me they are older.

7 minutes ago, dmar836 said:

Likely Amish?