Opinions on PH engraving

kkevin2004

This is a PH that I have been the caretaker of for a few years. I acquired it from another member on the forum and it was originally listed as a WIA POW of the 106th Infantry Division. After agreeing to purchase it, the seller said that it could possibly be attributed to an Air Force pilot that was KIA in Vietnam. There is also the possibility that it could have belonged to a WWII WIA Combat Medic with the 82nd Airborne. When looking at the small machine engraved examples from WWII in Dave's book, the engraving doesn't seem to match up to his examples. I know that the Air Force engravings during Vietnam were all over the place, but just wanted to see what opinions the forum would bring.

Thanks in advance!

Kevin

IMG_1604.jpeg

IMG_1603 (3).jpeg

IMG_1602.jpeg

Kevin 

I don’t get looking at it that it’s WWII small blackened engraved . Seems later to me but I’m no expert . The USAF Vietnam one I had was different but as you said they are all over with engravings . There was a USAF Kia VN on the forum a while back from a C47 gunship guy that I remember being similar?

I have been trying to find it ?

The Air Force was the least consistent service with regard to engraving styles during Vietnam. I have a feeling this could well be the USAF pilot's medal. 

Possibility?

https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/90633153/walter-wesley-martin

https://www.vhpa.org/KIA/K11280.HTM

Name: MAJ Walter Wesley Martin
Status: Killed In Action from an incident on 01/17/1969 while performing the duty of Pilot.
Age at death: 33.3
Date of Birth: 10/16/1935
Home City: Opolis, KS
Service: regular component of the U.S. Air Force.
Unit: 20 SOS
Service: U.S. Air Force.
The Wall location: 34W-026
Short Summary: Crashed in northern Laos while supporting a TACAN site.
Aircraft: CH-3E tail number 62-12582
Call sign: PONY
Service number: 66567
MOS: *
Primary cause: Hostile Fire
Started Tour: 04/22/1968
"Official" listing: helicopter air casualty - pilot