Help Needed: WWII Dog Tag, No Tetanus Date?

AirMechanic

This dog tag has me a bit stumped, although I’m not an expert on them. It appears to be a WWII dog tag, but it has no tetanus date. Does that mean something? Also, I wasn’t able to find anything about this soldier online. His name with that serial number didn’t come up in the NARA enlistment records either. I believe I read somewhere that enlisted records may not show anymore in the NARA database if they were later commissioned as an officer. Is that correct? Any help is appreciated!

F79F01EA-E680-4E6B-A8E6-A9CB8282CB80.jpeg

Simon Lerenfort

I’ve found several dog tags issued to negro second line troops, none of these had tetanus toxoid dates on their tags either. My guess is that there was an implication that as negoes they were not deemed to require such things. But it’s only a hypothesis and as yet I have not found any documentary evidence to support it.

Well, typing the service number into the WWII Hospital records, it brings this interesting thing:

image.png

Elizabeth, great job on finding his Hospital Admission Card! I just entered his name in Ancestry and nothing came up, which makes sense now that we have the record, as no name is listed. It seems that the hospital admission and discharge dates are wrong or backwards. A June 1944 admission date might prove very interesting if that is the case.

I also noticed that he was discharged from service because of his wounds. Perhaps that is why I can’t find his enlistment record.

As to the lack of a tetanus date, I seem to recall seeing this anomaly on another dog tag in my collection, so I don’t think it was a mistake or one time occurrence. As we now can see, this soldier also would not fit into the scenario of the hypothesis which Simon mentioned, which is very interesting in itself.