ithaca .45 identification help please

barry chandler

barry chandler

need some help identifying what i have.  according to the serial number (1182647) colt made the frame, but it has an ithaca slide.  the inspector initials are "GHD", and the backstrap, trigger, and hammer have checkering.  the gun is blued instead of parkerized, and it has brown plastic grips.  is this a made up gun or an original ithaca ?  any help from anyone would be appreciated.

Photos would help greatly.I am no expert,however a Colt frame and Ithaca slide would make it a put together. My quess is it is a reblue as it should be parkerized.As to the checkered controls.not sure.

Someone will be along with more knowledge.

Good luck.

barry chandler

thanks for the input friend, i don't know enough about the collectibility of these to be dangerous.  i didn't know if there were times when the manufacturers shared parts during wartime or not.

5 hours ago, 72psb said:

Photos would help greatly.I am no expert,however a Colt frame and Ithaca slide would make it a put together. My quess is it is a reblue as it should be parkerized.As to the checkered controls.not sure.

Someone will be along with more knowledge.

Good luck.

IMHO messed with I would pass on this one unless you just want a shooter and the price is right?

Not collectible and there are better shooters if that is what you are looking for.  The frame you describe is a Colt and the slide is an Ithaca and it should be parkerized as others have noted.

17 minutes ago, barry chandler said:

is the serial number the only way to tell it's a colt frame?

It is not.  You can also tell by the font used on serial number, as Colt used serifed numerals, where the other contract makers did not.

The assigned Ordnance inspector stamp is also a way to identify Colts, as is their Verified Proof “VP” stamp on the left-front of the trigger guard.