WWII M1 Net Variations

gunner

This year I have acquired a couple variations of helmet nets and now I’m as equally addicted to them as I am M1’s!

im looking for as much info as I can gather on the different nets worn by US soldiers in ww2. I only found one good reference online and I used the search tool here and didn’t find what I was looking for. 

http://www.90thidpg.us/Research/Original/ShrimpNet/index.html

if you have any book suggestions, websites, personal info you’d be whiling to share, and hopefully pictures from your personal collection Id love it all please!

-Shawn 

I’m not sure I’m still learning about them. I don’t know how to distinguish between them. 

I know we wore British and Canadian nets a lot. I just don’t know what was most common or how to tell them apart. I see a lot about the different hole sizes and weaves etc. 

Garandy, yours looks like a British made net. Tons of British made nets were worn by the American troops, in fact, the first official American net was only introduced in late 1944 and made its first mass appearance during the Battle of the Bulge (net, helmet, with band). This net is quite rare to find these days. On D-day the troops wore British made nets for the most part, there's still some debate around what nets were manufactured by the Americans before D-day. You'll find some large mesh nets that have a tag saying Denison. We aren't completely sure if these were produced in a factory or not. Often times large vehicle nets (mostly shrimp or Dennison type) were cut into pieces and worn over the helmet like that. The 1/2 inch mesh net is quite popular, you'll find them in OD7 as well as OD3 (rarely), these were most likely produced for the British war department as well.