Parker111502

Ww2 usmc knapsack with unknown marking???

Hello i am new to this forum and I just got this usmc depot made knapsack with an interesting tactical marking and i have no clue what it means and i was wondering if anyone could give some insight thanks! Ps. The guy I bought it from says its 6th marine division

202A541B-7628-4AAC-B0CA-D5A01A7E08E2.png

I saw that one, its a really nice example. Im no expert but I believe that the seller said that the circular yellow mark underneath the blocked mark was for the 6th marine and that they did not know what the block markings over it were. I have no idea what the second markings mean but there are several threads on Marine markings on the forum, Ill try to find one to direct you to. Alternatively I would recommend you set up a free ancestory.com account and search the name through their marine database, they have very good records of marine's service so you can probably figure out the unit that the individual served in and that would tell you what unit the markings are for.

donation2019.gif

Elwood Earl Wegesin was in the Marines 1946-48 and served with  Company C, 1st Bn, 8th Marines and may have been in Japan during the unit's last months of occupation duty. He was with 1/8 at Camp Lejeune and then was at the Marine Barracks, Washington DC. 

donation2007.gifdonation2008.gifdonation2009.gifdonation2010.gifdonation2011.gif

donation2012.gifdonation2013.gifdonation2014.gifdonation2015.gifdonation2016.gif

donation2017.gif

donation2018.gifdonation2019.gif

donation2019.gif

Great then mystery is probably solved, I guess the second division makes sense since there are two squares. Are the tac marks with the unit numbers different from this type of marking which is filled in?

donation2019.gif