PATCH PRESERVATION

jefmil

I have been collecting patches for 25 years without to many mishaps. I have been reading the forums regarding preservation and I would like anyones opinion of my technique.
Whenever I buy a patch, i first give the patch very delicate cleaning with fine brush etc. if dirty.

I place the patch in a plastic box and freeze it for 2-4 weeks in the freezer.

After that I thaw the patch and allow it to dry completely.

I then place the patch in airtight container with several moth balls for another 2-4 weeks.

After this I place the patch in a rikor mount with a moth ball sliver in 2,3 or 4 corners depending on how much I paid for the patch.

I check my patches at least every six months. If the mothballs don't smell or are gone, I replace them.

I keep the patches in metal cabinet with golden rod to keep moisture out.

Essentially my patches are kept in dark but climate controlled area.

When i remove the rikor mount top there is outline of the patch on the glass. It easily wipes off but makes me wonder if a chemical reaction involving the mothballs and something hopefully not the patch is going on.

Anyone know if the mothballs and bullion react?

Is mothballs in the rikor mount (under the foam) harmful in anyway to a billion, wool or cotton patch?

Thanks

Jefmil

BILL THE PATCH

Everyone has there own methods I guess, no offense but you seem to be a little extreme in your methods. I've been collecting about 30 years steady. Never had a problem with moths. I store my patches in all different ways. Some in old NOS Photo albums. Or in a plastic bins. Even a patch blanket no bug problems. Do you have lots of moth issues where you live? I'm not sure if the moth balls hurt the bullion or not but the smell is got to be bad. As a kid I loved the smell of moth balls. Cedar is also a bug repellent in it's own right. Smells good to.To each his own I guess.

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk