A.E. Co or American Emblem Co of Utica, NY: examples and patterns

I picked up these nice 3" air crew wings recently, and was wondering if it was a rare maker or any info on them would be great, I would like to sell them and want to list them with all the info.what would be a fair price for these? .they are marked on the back....sterling A.E.CO. Utica N.Y...thanks.....mike

post-350-1224639924.jpg

post-350-1224640049.jpg

• 9 months later...
jcastellanos4

I am welcoming any opinions on these 3" Navigator Wings. I was told they were made by AE Co. Utica NY, and by looking at the wing pattern I would have to agree but I am a novice at collecting. No maker's mark.. STERLING is raised. I included one of my AE Co. pilot wings for comparison in one of the photos. Can anyone with more experience identify the maker of these wings.. and are they legit? Thanks guys!

post-5901-1249696577.jpg

jcastellanos4
I am welcoming any opinions on these 3" Navigator Wings. I was told they were made by AE Co. Utica NY, and by looking at the wing pattern I would have to agree but I am a novice at collecting. No maker's mark.. STERLING is raised. I included one of my AE Co. pilot wings for comparison in one of the photos. Can anyone with more experience identify the maker of these wings.. and are they legit? Thanks guys!

post-5901-1249697326.jpg

Your wing is an A.E. Co. piece, probably defaced to fulfill a government contract order. Their wings were not particularly attractive when compared to some of the others, but the detail of their navigator device is one of the top 2 or 3 in terms of sharp, clear detail.

Paul S

The wing is not defaced, you can see A.E. Co. following the circle of the globe over the STERLING mark. Nice period piece!

jcastellanos4
The wing is not defaced, you can see A.E. Co. following the circle of the globe over the STERLING mark. Nice period piece!