devilstoothpick

Long thread on fakery: On Ebay - are these WW2 Airborne uniforms real or not?

The description:

I've been collecting for over 55 years and it is now time to start letting most of my personal collection go. This group was acquired several years ago from a family member many generations from the time. This is another one of the many identified group of items from a combat airborne vet that I have found over the years but the only from one killed in action. This is a hard one to list but I feel quite privileged to have taken care of it over all these years and it is going to be hard letting it go. The family must have taken pretty good care of these and there is very little soiling and only very minor moth damage (to be described) that I can see. The trousers shown did not come with the group, only the jacket, shirt and cap. I'll throw in the trousers to complete the set for display. I am listing these items as collectibles. As such, the only size information given in the description are those marked on the items. The photos really tell the whole story so please review them carefully. If you need more photos contact me and I'll see what I can do. Please feel free to ask relevant questions. I do not ship international - no exceptions.

This uniform group is from the 17th Airborne Division, 517th Parachute Infantry Regiment. Their battle history is astounding and every bit as exemplary as that of other airborne units. The 17th was comprised of many combat vets from the 101st and 82nd, especially the NCO's. They fought tough campaigns in France, Belgium and Germany. They also displayed almost unbelievable valor. As with other airborne units, their rise to fame in print and film is well earned.