new collectors wings

dave307

I am new to collecting wings. I purchased this collection recently and am tryng to learn all i can. I usually collect military knives and bayonets but i have branched out lately adding a collection of wings to my ww 2 items. Since i am new to this any comments on what i have would be greatly appreciated. What is a good book to buy that gives the collector all that he needs to buy original ww 2 wings ? I have so many questions I don't where to start.

post-167936-0-69961600-1518471161.jpgpost-167936-0-30516100-1518471180.jpgpost-167936-0-89902900-1518471195.jpgpost-167936-0-53549400-1518471210.jpgpost-167936-0-21021700-1518471225.jpg

Larger pictures will help if you want specific information.

Is it one tray of wings?

How many paratrooper wings are there?

I’m getting totally absorbed in this. I had never even seen one of these before I bought this collection. Now I have allot of research to do which I like

tdogchristy90

Im getting totally absorbed in this. I had never even seen one of these before I bought this collection. Now I have allot of research to do which I like

I'd start by identifying the "type" of each wing as well as looking at the back of them and trying to figure out the "maker mark" of each. I'm not a wing guy but taking it one step at a time, that'd be my first thing. Type and Maker Mark.

I will post some better pictures in a smaller grouping. There’s 40 total so 2 trays. I have to paratrooper wings. 1 that says sterling gp and the other just has sterling. The glider wings are in country made.