USMC Molle Gear

Vpep

Hello All,

I'm new to collecting modern gear, so I though I would ask for some help. Ive been gathering Marine Corps gear and uniforms to display, and I'd like to get it right. Ive found a nice coyote brown plate carrier and would like to outfit it with the proper pouches and gear. I've found these pouches, but I want to know if they are right for the carrier in terms of time period. The pouches all came from the same individual and still had middle eastern dust on them. Can someone also tell me what the insert for the hydration pack looks like, since this pouch came without it. I look forward to hearing from everyone.

Thanks

Vic

PS

Sorry about the one picture, I can't figure out how to rotate it.

post-113193-0-41679600-1509490097_thumb.jpg

post-113193-0-31994800-1509490130.jpg

Cap Camouflage Pattern I

Very nice, welcome to modern collecting, get it while it's hot!

Your vest is a Modular Tactical Vest, used from around 2003 to 2009, yours is towards the later side because it has a lot of PALS webbing on the back, the early ones din't have much. It should be marked with a date on the tag, and the pouches may have dates in their contracts.

What time frame do you want to represent? 2003-2005 I'd go with mostly woodland pouches, 2006-2009 I'd go with Coyote brown pouches.

I think i would like to represent 05 to 09. My problem is I have no idea how to date these things, or to tell what is aftermarket for Airsofters or privately purchased by soldiers.

Should I go with a woodland plate carrier as well? I have an opportunity to get one as well. You are absolutely right about it being hot, Its down right addictive. You can put together an awesome historical display without breaking the bank and still talk to vets about their gear while they can accurately remember it too.

Actually it is OTV, not MTV.

Very nice, welcome to modern collecting, get it while it's hot!