8th Airlift Squadron What Era?

Bearmon

Any help on dating this patch would be much appreciated.

It does not appear this ever has a tab, it is no glow and around 3 inches tall (slightly oval)

post-582-0-53394100-1508971072.jpg

post-582-0-50539500-1508971111.jpg

Anytime post 1966 when they were redesignated a Military Airlift Sq. until becoming an Airlift Sq. in 1991. Yours looks a bit older and could well be 60s-early 70s. But there are a lot of subtle variations on this one over the years.

Randy

I think this is more in the 1980' range. It looks identical to one I got off the aircrew back in 1989..... Randy is correct as the patch hardly changed through the years.

-Ski

I agree with Teamski and Randy. I graduated high shool outside of McChord AFB, Wa in the 1980s and have acquired several 8th TCS, MAS, AS patches over the years. The patch design is very similar amongst all my 8th patches. None of them have tabs.

I think this is more in the 1980' range. It looks identical to one I got off the aircrew back in 1989..... Randy is correct as the patch hardly changed through the years.

-Ski

I said 60s-70s as it appears to be cotton backed, though I could be wrong. The several I have here are all synthetic threads.

Randy

I agree with Teamski and Randy. I graduated high shool outside of McChord AFB, Wa in the 1980s and have acquired several 8th TCS, MAS, AS patches over the years. The patch design is very similar amongst all my 8th patches. None of them have tabs.

The TCS ones normally looked like the one attached.

Randy

post-8832-0-66909200-1509146498.jpg

It is all cotton, no glow at all, it looks early 60's to me but I wanted to check,

The sticker with Airlift was there I got the patch.

That doesn't men it can't be a troop carrier era I suppose, but the three inch size makes me thing it is a later

time

It is all cotton, no glow at all, it looks early 60's to me but I wanted to check,

The sticker with Airlift was there I got the patch.