03 A3 with sniper scope HELP

SGT York

Hi I have an 03 A3 with a sniper scope. I want to sell it,but since it is not an A4 and fitting in the confirmed listing on issued sniper rigs, how do I value it? The gun is superb dated 9-43 ..It is also my undertanding many rifle later on were issued as sniper guns in this configuration. Thoughts, help pricing etc would be great thanks.

Many pics available,,too hard to post here, with the size restrictions.

post-9646-0-33442500-1484086557.jpg

post-9646-0-43655800-1484086676.jpg

Are you sure thats not an 03 a4 pictures are small. Bolt and scope look correct....

it's my understanding the 04s were marked as such....and the serial # is 4,0xx,xxx..I am NOT an expert on these.

post-9646-0-20332100-1484091821.jpg

03A4's were marked 03A3 like any other, except it was offset to the left side so it could be read with the scope installed, that is the way to tell at a glance if it is a real A4 or not, and if it wasn't built as an A4, it's not a real A4...

03A4's were marked 03A3 like any other, except it was offset to the left side so it could be read with the scope installed, that is the way to tell at a glance if it is a real A4 or not, and if it wasn't built as an A4, it's not a real A4...

I never claimed it was an A4...but am I wrong that 03 were issued withscopes as well, especially l;ater as there was no real difference in performance? Just rtying to figure out what I have, and put it on the market for a fair price. 1 of many guns I'm selling from our family collection.

I will check, but I don't think the military ever used standard A3's to make A4's...but I could be wrong.

I will agree the scope is correct as is the bolt...but my guess is it was put together...even if it is a "repro" it's still worth quite a bit...

The rifle will be worth the sum of its parts, generally speaking. "Collector value" of the receiver is gone. In my opinion, "fair price" will be dependent upon that plus finding the correct buyer.