Vietnam Research

billl

I'm a free lance writer. My next article will be in Vietnam Magazine in December.

What's the easiest way to get an incident / after-action report? I'm going to do an article on a friendly fire incident that took place 12/26/67.

439th Signal Battalion

Try this link here: http://www.war-stories.com/after-action-kolsun-1969.htm

I have done so with success in the past.

If possible, try to find a unit association or personal contact for the specific unit/action/date you are trying to find. I know that some members with unit associations have many of their AAR's copied from either the National Archives or College Park.

Also, don't be surprised that if you do happen to find the AAR for 12/26/67, it will often be vague and perhaps void of much of the information you are looking for. Sometimes actual events had a way of getting changed or distorted in most G2 or S2 records and people, as you are aware, remember these events differently than what is written down in "official" after-action reports.

Do I understand that they will reply to the first form, telling you what is available?

Then you send the second form, asking for copies?

I requested under the Freedom of Information Act certain info about a WWII incident. I got pages of info (about 150 pages) but very little of it was helpful.

Did you get a bill for copies? How big?

439th Signal Battalion

Yes, I believe that is the way it works.

In my experience, if anything is available for the specific date and action (if five pages or less I believe), then they should photocopy what you want and send it to you free of charge. I think you could put an addendum somewhere on your form requesting that and see what happens. The last time I used this link, I was looking for a specific action that took place in Cambodia on 21 May 1970. They sent me all the AAR's for that day and the unit I had requested, which was somewhere around five pages.