Souvenir Sand from Desert Storm - Yes, Sand

bryang

My wife found this today while we were out at one of our favorite thrift stores, and I'll admit that this very minor item has to be one of the coolest - and weirdest - bring-back items I've seen.

Desert Storm "souvenir sand."

As a Gulf War Veteran, I find this quite ironic, as we all were under strictest orders not to bring any sand home with us. Every container, vehicle and piece of unit equipment as well as personal items, were painstakingly inspected for dirt, sand, vegetable matter before we could even think of boarding that "freedom bird" for the trip home.

It created a little bit of a public affairs stir when General Schwartzkopf - before the international news media - stopped on a beach of newly-liberated Kuwait and scooped up some beach sand as a souvenir.

Anyways, this is the first time I've seen anything like this. Its amusing, and I believe makes for an odd military souvenir for the collection!

Bryan

post-152877-0-11067200-1467262663.jpg

post-152877-0-13295200-1467262669.jpg

Guess I must have violated the regs, too.

Mine's in a little bottle that sits at my desk at work...along with some currency picked up along the way.

It sits beside a smaller bottle of black sand from Iwo Jima that a former Marine once gave me.

It's really hard to realize that was 25 years ago.

dumb question, but why couldn't you bring home sand?

https://help.cbp.gov/app/answers/detail/a_id/955/~/importing-soil-into-the-united-states

The gist being here: