Help from a Wildcat expert

wingman68

I am playing around with the idea for my Pacific diarama, I am thinking about scratch building in timber,fibreglass and plywood the cock pit section of a Wildcat, set against the Carrier conning tower that will be painted on my garage wall, then I can plonk my Pilot Dummy in it with all his gear and display my other odds and sodds around it, building it I think will fairly straight forward but I would need some basic dimensions or even a good drawing of the front bulkhead, screen and canopy, seat design and the rear bulkhead immediately behind the seat, and also a real good shot of a cockpit, it wont be 100 percent accurate its just I think it would look great and add to the collection something that is different, any Cat experts among us?

Here are a couple cockpit photos. Scroll down to F4F

http://uscockpits.com/F-L.html

Not the greatest but hopefully a help

The one on the left... but, I'm no expert.

If it were me, I'd ask the Museum of Naval Aviation for guidance to the cockpit specs, drawings, and/or photos.

Link:

http://homepage.mac.com/hiwaybk/Panama_Cit...otoAlbum14.html

go here

http://warbirdinformationexchange.org/phpB...p=229387#229387

a lot of pages of photos, and not just F4F's to wade through, but I'm fairly certain you will find what you are looking for.

Also look here

http://www.ww2aircraft.net/forum/other-mec...book-14560.html

and scroll down to the PDF link in the 4th message for an FM-2 manual