Korean War A-2 for 6167th Special Operation Squadron Flight Jacket

Navybean

Just picked up this well used AAF Korean War retread A-2 flight jacket. Jacket is well used and is mostly original with the exception of the wrist cuffs and the liner has been replaced.

Jacket has great 5th AAF Korea shoulder emblem, then on the right shoulder is a nice AAF decal. On the front breast are a couple of what I believe are (I am not a patch expert) Japanese made squadron patches.

Jacket also has a C47 plane and 6167th Operation Squadron / base operation painted on the right breast. Back of the jacket is a painted blood chit with English, US, South Korean and UN flags.

Jacket looks to have had other squadron patches on the left breast at one time, also jacket had name tags on it at one point appears to have been at least 2 both removed but stich holes remain. I am not sure who the vet was last name could have been Basset?

The new jacket liner has a very faint stamp that appears to be a replacement for the original black tag.

The 6167th appears to be a special squadron who flew C47, C46 and B26 planes or the purpose of psychological warfare and leaflet dropping.

Great jacket and I would love some information on the patches on the front as I have not been able to find them in my limited patch books.

post-45737-0-38897600-1449443466.jpg

post-45737-0-96084200-1449443472.jpg

post-45737-0-40364200-1449443479.jpg

I have been searching the web for the Black Bat (maybe it is not a bat) Squadron patch but I can not find it? I was thinking I had seen it before and that it was for a Night Fighter squadron or a intelligence squadron

Any patch collectors has any ideas?

Thanks for the complements, it is a nice find.

I would have liked to have talked with the vet concerning the jackets history. Reading about the 6167th they seemed to have been involved with some covert missions during the war.