B-17 nose art

30-30remchester

30-30remchester

hello everyone im new to this sight please be patient with me. i am an ardent supporter and admirer of all our military. my much loved and decieced father in law was a ball turret gunner on a B-17 with the 15th army air corps in ww2 with 51 missions to his credit. i have his plane serial number and was wanting to find out if anyone knows how to find out the planes nickname and nose art. can anyone help direct me? am an avid collector of military guns and knives.

Steindaddie

Do you know the group or squadron to which your father-in-law belonged ? That, and the serial number, should allow the plane to be tracked down much easier.

Will

30-30remchester
Can you post the number please??

thanks for the intrest my father in law was in the 15th air force ,5th wing, 97th group, 342nd squadron flying the ball turret of a B-17g. on the front of his flight folder a hand written "plane 6374". ant help would be appreciated he never told anything but humorous incedents. would like to find out more if possible thanks

thanks for the intrest my father in law was in the 15th air force ,5th wing, 97th group, 342nd squadron flying the ball turret of a B-17g. on the front of his flight folder a hand written "plane 6374". ant help would be appreciated he never told anything but humorous incedents. would like to find out more if possible thanks

While I don't have any nose art I can post some of the jacket patches, and tail markings

97th BG DUI VENIT HORA =The Hour Has Come

and tail marking

post-3435-1216019143.jpg

post-3435-1216019205.jpg

post-3435-1216020116.jpg

While I don't have any nose art I can post some of the jacket patches, and tail markings

97th BG DUI VENIT HORA =The Hour Has Come

and tail marking