Ford GPW Jeep. 1943?

USdog

Hey,

My friend found this Ford GPW Jeep online. Price isn't bad (or so it seems) so I may be interested in buying it to try and restore. I would just like to see what you guys think and have some questions....

The seller thinks that it is from 1942. He said the serial number is GPW 9**** on the frame but data plate is illegible. And from researching I think is early 1943?

It has a mix of ford and willys parts supposedly. It has a post war willys engine. I'm assuming bumper, headlights, wheels, are post war? Engine turns over but he has not tried to start.

Any idea on value? Is it restorable? Run away?

Anything else you guys can tell me please do. Good or bad. I'm no expert.

Thanks guys!

Connor

post-93633-0-25367900-1421272523.jpg

Hey,

My friend found this Ford GPW Jeep online. Price isn't bad so I may be interested in buying it to try and restore. I would just like to see what you guys think and have some questions....

The seller thinks that it is from 1942. He said the serial number is GPW 9**** on the frame but data plate is illegible. And from researching I think is early 1943?

It has a mix of ford and willys parts supposedly. It has a willys engine. I'm assuming bumper, headlights, wheels, are post war? Engine turns over but he has not tried to start.

Any idea on value? Is it restorable?

Anything else you guys can tell me please do. Good or bad. I'm no expert.

Thanks guys!

Connor

that looks like alot of surface rust that ate its way through, itd be one heck of a project but not impossible. but unless you know what you are doing its not going to be very easy... i know a guy who restored a 1942 ford jeep and he's restored his share of cars butit was a tough one and not even close to this condition... sold yesterday at the Barret Jackson auction for i believe $35,000 so if your work passes that id avoid it.

Hi..