Blue backed bullion aircrew wing

littlebuddy

Great looking wings, but I would want 501st Geronimo ( the forums leading expert and collector of blue combat wings) seal of approval to sleep well at night. I sure like them but I'm no expert! Paul

AAF_Collection

Great looking wings, but I would want 501st Geronimo ( the forums leading expert and collector of blue combat wings) seal of approval to sleep well at night. I sure like them but I'm no expert! Paul

The reverse backing material is typical of certain British made insignia, including some RAF wings and officers bullion cap badges, and I have seen it used on other blue backed AAF wings I've handled.

Perhaps 501st Geronimo has some other examples, which are not on uniforms and which have this type of backing he can share for comparison?.

501stGeronimo

Thanks for the comments, but I am a student...not a expert ;) . Learning new things everyday. But the wing is 100% right as rain. There is nothing wrong with the backing on this wing. Very Nice example.

Here are a few examples with similar backing:

Gwendyr Flight Engineer with similar stitching to attach the backing.

post-36094-0-84952300-1419996061.jpg

post-36094-0-08550500-1419996073.jpg

501stGeronimo

A Bullion Aircrew with similar design, but was made by a different unknown tailor. Backing is different, but still executed in a similar way.

post-36094-0-67746900-1419996237.jpg

post-36094-0-97588000-1419996383.jpg

Thank you 501st for that informative piece , are there any examples of NON CORRECT BLUE BACKED WINGS ? just so we can have some kind of comparison ? im sure there are others out there who want to collect these wings but are unsure as to whether a example is kosher or not ??

And as you are the leading collector on here , you might be able to help ???

Thanks

LB

Nice Find, Carl. wishing you and yours a great 2015. BTW-that's a great new avatar.

Thanks Bob ! the very same to you ! im glad you like the avatar :D

Carl

501stGeronimo