nazchapdwd

M1 found (in my closet!)...Correct assessment?

(Hopefully this is the correct place to post this)

I pulled out an M1 helmet/liner which I've had for years to try to determine a date for it. I had originally found it while working as a residential trash collector (garbage man). I dumped a can in the truck and there was this helmet along with some other TA-50. I assumed it was of more recent production as it resembled what I wore in Basic Training in the 1980s. As I researched it, I think I may have more than I though I did so would appreciate your help.

It's a swivel-bail, front-seam Schlueter so was definitely produced during the years of WW2, correct? The color seems darker than WW2 issue, though I'm no expert. What do you think? I assume these were continued to be used in subsequent years so were they re-painted? I understand there were just about 2 mil of the Schlueters produced, does this add much value, even if repainted?

The liner that I found with it seems to indicate a later use (if they were used together, which is likely unless the guy who threw it out was a collector). The liner is a Firestone with green webbing and A-shaped black washers (?) but does NOT have the eyelet on the front. Does the liner look like 1960s production?

post-121808-0-07445400-1406496767.jpg

post-121808-0-95946900-1406496768.jpg

post-121808-0-12418500-1406497178.jpg

Always looking for chaplain-related items!

See my stuff (and more) at The Chaplain Kit, an online chaplain history museum.

tck-logo-100-pix.jpg

It looks like it got some post war "cosmetics" the shell is a repaint and the chin straps were added post war as well.

-Dave

Collecting WWI 26th Division Machine Gun and Infantry related Helmets, Equipment, Groupings, Photos and Dog Tags!

donation2015.gif

schlueter helmet with post ww2 straps (not sure if its me but they look an odd color) with a korean war or early vietnam firestone liner