Vintage Firearms In Safe

kilgarvan

I have 2 WW1 era vintage pistols in a modern safe. I'm relatively new to collecting. My question is does anybody put "something" in the safe to take away moisture? Not sure even what I mean so please excuse my ignorance. Also, is it ok for these guns to sit on the "pad" that comes with these safes? Should they rest on acid free paper?

Thanks and any insights into the storage of vintage firearms welcomed.

You really need to do something. The humidity will build up in the safe (most probably depending upon the environment) and eventually form rust. There are any number of things you can do, like put in dehumidification blocks and such (which you periodically have to heat up to refresh), but the simplest thing to do (which should be done in any case, is make sure they have a light coating of oil. especially in the barrels.

I am not up to speed on all the latest developments in modern chemicals for this, but at the very least use something like WD-40 or break free.

I am sure there are any number of sites on the web about gun storage, or people with a lot larger collections that may have some ideas.

check any of the web sites like gander mtn or natchez supply, and you can find some idea of what you need. They have silica packs and other items you can use to keep the air dry. You do need to use something.

oldfireguy

We don't have a humidity problem here but I pull all my firearms out at least twice a year to check them and wipe them down. They make heating rods and I use silica packs just in case. I've never had an issue in all the years I have been collecting.

normaninvasion

I'm from NY as well, and deal with high humidity in summer and bone dry in winter. I have used the silica packs, that can be reused. Just heat in the oven to dry out. These can be bought at Cabelas. I also strip and re oil every year.