Camp Butner NC museum needs your help!

mmerc20

Hello everyone,

A lot of you know me here and know I am a soldier in the North Carolina National Guard but I am also on the board of directors for the Camp Butner Society, a 503©(3) non-profit dedicated to honoring the soldiers who called Camp Butner, NC home seventy years ago.

From 1942-1945, over 40,000 soldiers passed through the gates of Butner to receive some of the best training available prior to going to Europe and among them units like the 35th, 78th and 89th Infantry Divisions famously spent some considerable time here.

We have been trying to build a museum to honor both the soldiers and civilans who made Camp Butner what it was, but it has been a long, slow process however we have made some major steps forward to making the dream a reality.

A few years ago, we secured one of the last remaining wooden structures original to Butner to house the museum, but it is in a sad state of disrepair and needs a complete renovation. Because of that, we are asking for your help.

Every tax-deductible donation will help to give the "day room" the much needed attention. It has been a number of things over the years (a laundry, a pool hall, etc) but now we want to reconstruct it as it would have been during the war and eventually open it to the public.

Besides monetary donations, we are also looking for uniforms, medals, photos, documents and anything that might be relevant to the soldiers who were at Butner, or Butner itself.

You can email us at [email protected] and even better, be sure to visit our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/CampButnerSociety to see photos of Butner then and now and to receive updates on our progress. Please "like" us too! Donations can also be sent to:

Camp Butner Society

PO BOX 412

Butner, NC 27509

Thanks a lot everyone,

Mike